I had debated for a long time adding this recipe to my blog. It was my grandmothers and she made it every year for my mothers birthday. This year on January 21st, my grandmother passed away suddenly. My moms birthday was coming up In a little less than a month. It took me TEN tries to get it just like she makes it. But my mother still got her birthday cake this year.

I decided after a few months that my favorite quote "we're all stories in the end, just make it a good one" holds no meaning if we don't share the stories of our loved ones around us.

So here is just a piece of my grandmothers story I would like to share with the world. She was a marvoulous cook.

This is not a quick recipe. Take your time making this and your patience will pay off.

Here is what you will need:

1 box of angel food cake mix

2 packages of strawberry jello

1- 12oz package of frozen strawberries in juice.

1 container of cool whip.

Directions.

1) prepare the angel food cake as per the directions on the box. (It helps if you have the angel food cake pan with the removable bottom and let stand)

2) as soon as the cake is done, remove from oven immediately and flip over into legs. Let the cake cool completely before removing from pan.

3) Once the cake is cooled completely and has been removed, cut the top of the cake off. You want the top layer to be about 1 1/2" thick.

4) Carefully pluck out a ring in the bottom layer of the cake. You want to form a well. Be carefull not to break through the sides of the cake. This is where you filling will go, and you don't want it running out on you! Keep all the pieces of cake in a bowl! You're going to need those later!!!!

5) now that you have all those cake pieces In a bowl, it's time to prepare the jello. Follow the directions on the box for the jello. After you add the mix to the boiling water. Remove from heat.

6) add the frozen strawberries to the jello and mix until dissolved. The mixture will start to become more jelly like.

7) once the frozen strawberries has thawed- add all those left over cake pieces! Mix together and throw in the fridge for about 15-20 minutes or until it's "almost" solid.

8) one the jello and cake mixture has begun to set, spoon it into the well you made in the bottom layer of your cake. Fill it right up to the top.

9) add the top layer back to the cake and frost the whole cake with cool whip.

10) refrigerate for about 2-3 hours prior to serving. And enjoy!

Jen Sullivan
5/21/2014 11:48:52 am

Nicole this looks amazing and how sweet of you to share your grandmother's recipe! I myself have been working on figuring out some of my dad's favorite recipes he used to make (he passed away 5 years ago in Jan 18). Anyway I'm definitely going to have to try this! Love your new blog and good luck! :) -Jen from P2P

Reply
Nicole Pierce
5/21/2014 11:54:23 am

Thanks Jen! I'm sorry to hear about your father! My mothers has terminal cancer, so I totally get that. Good luck! And if you have any question let me know and I can help!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Nikki

    Just a girl who likes to bake and cook! Over the next year I'll be experimenting with my own recipes, Pintrest recipes, and finding uses for a $25 penis shaped cake pan I Mistakenly bought once..

    "I’ll be a story in your head, but that’s okay, because we’re all stories in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?"

    Past Recipes

    January 2014