Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a medium bowl, cream together 3/4 cup of softened butter, with 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Add the entire contents of the jar, and mix by hand until combined. Drop dough by heaping spoonfuls onto an unprepared cookie sheet. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven.

Let me tell you that these are delicious! And they went fast too! I actually layered the dry ingredients into mason jars and gave then as Christmas gifts this year!

If you want to layer them my advice to you is to layer it in this order:

1) Flour baking powder and salt mix

2) brown sugar

3) white sugar

4) oats

5) chocolate chips

With practice you can you can fit all the ingredients in the jar. Make sure you use a 1 liter mason jar! I recommend using a nice cream scoop to pack down all the ingredients!

For the gift look, you can buy vintage blue jars on etsy, but I bought clear ones at walmart and thought all the ingredients layered well. I added the instructions on an oversized gift tag I found at A.C. Moore, paired it with a stainless steel holiday cookie cutter (not practical but it looked adorable) and wrapped it all up in a twine bow!

2/18/2020 01:20:13 am

Can’t wait to try the recipes for Passover!! Thanks for the great recipes. I appreciate it so much!!

Reply
2/18/2020 11:19:20 pm

For anyone contemplating this, MAKE IT! The paste is easy to make and I doubled the recipe to freexe the extras to make it super easy for my future self. Its really a pretty simple soup but it packs in nice flavour 🙂 We made it once with thing pork butt and that was great, and we made it once with daikon and cabbage and that was also great. Very versatile soup base.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Nikki

    Just a girl who likes to bake and cook! Over the next year I'll be experimenting with my own recipes, Pintrest recipes, and finding uses for a $25 penis shaped cake pan I Mistakenly bought once..

    "I’ll be a story in your head, but that’s okay, because we’re all stories in the end. Just make it a good one, eh?"

    Past Recipes

    January 2014